Buddhist Dictionary By Nyanatiloka Mahathera – Ad

Manual of Buddhist Terms and Doctrines,
By Nyanatiloka Mahathera


adaptability (of body, mental factors and consciousness): kammaññatā (q.v.); cf. khandha (corporeality) and Tab. II.

adaptation-knowledge: anuloma-ñāṇa (q.v.).

adherence: parāmāsa (q.v.)

adherent: upāsaka (q.v.)

adhicitta-sikkhā ‘training in higher mentality’; s. sikkhā.

adhimokkha: ‘determination’, decision, resolve: is one of the mental concomitants (cetasika) and belongs to the group of mental formations (saṅkhārakkhandha). In M. 111, it is mentioned together with other mental concomitants. See Tab. II, III.

adhipaññā-dhamma-vipassanā: ‘insight into things based on higher wisdom’, is one of the 18 chief kinds of insight (s. vipassanā).

adhipati-paccaya: ‘predominance-condition’ is one of the 24 conditions (paccaya, q.v.); if developed, it is considered as the fourfold road to power (iddhi-pāda, q.v.).

adhisīla-sikkhā: ‘training in higher morality’: s. sikkhā.

adhiṭṭhāna, as a doctrinal term, occurs chiefly in two meanings:

1. ‘Foundation’: four ‘foundations’ of an Arahat’s mentality, mentioned and explained in M. 140: the foundation of wisdom (paññā), of truthfulness (sacca) of liberality (cāga) and of peace (upasama). See also D. 33 and Com.

2. ‘Determination’, resolution, in: adhiṭṭhāna-iddhi, ‘magical power of determination’ (s. iddhi); adhiṭṭhāna-pāramī, ‘perfection of resolution’ (s. pāramī).

ādibrahmacariyaka-sīla: ‘morality of genuine pure conduct’, consists in right speech, right bodily action and right livelihood, forming the 3rd, 4th and 5th links of the Eightfold Path (s. sacca, IV.3, 4, 5); cf. Vis.M. I. In A. II, 86 it is said:

“With regard to those moral states connected with and corresponding to the genuine pure conduct, he is morally strong, morally firm and trains himself in the moral rules taken upon himself. After overcoming the 3 fetters (ego-belief. skeptic doubt and attachment to mere rules and ritual; s. saṃyojana) he becomes one who will be ‘reborn seven times at the utmost’ (s. Sotāpanna) and after only seven times more wandering through this round of rebirths amongst men and heavenly beings, he will put an end to suffering.”

ādīnavānupassanā-ñāṇa: ‘knowledge consisting in contemplation of misery’, is one of the 8 kinds of insight (vipassanā) that form the ‘purification of the knowledge and vision of the path-progress (s. visuddhi, VI. 4). It is further one of the 18 chief kinds of insight (s. vipassanā).

adosa: ‘hatelessness, is one of the 3 wholesome roots (mūla, q.v.).

adukkha-m-asukhā vedanā: ‘feeling which is neither painful nor joyful’, i.e. indifferent feeling; s. khandha, vedanā.

advertence (of mind to the object): āvajjana, is one of the functions of consciousness (viññāṇa-kicca, q.v.). Cf. manasikāra.

Add Comment